Indonesia : stop at Vulcania and Buffalo Grill

Harau (19)sFor a month and a half, on the Indonesian islands of Sumatra and Sulawesi, It is put eyeful : volcanoes, Lakes, Sea, Mountain… It is far from Indian cities (It is much cleaner than in the latter) ! What a pleasure to be found in nature, without recourse to an agency or guide, and without tourists around us. Even for Laurent, grew up in the land of volcanoes, the rise of smoking craters remain impressive. As for the hikes in rice fields, the landscape is superb and always cross a village or we cross a farmer to tell us the way. On the other hand, more person travels on foot, they are all motorcycle, whether in the city or in rice fields.
Everywhere in Indonesia, the vegetation is incredibly lush and many delicious fruits (fruit is feasted passion, mangosteen, tree-tomato, Snake fruit and other fruits which it does not know the name). To grow everything you need rain and we had our lot (difficult to draw in these conditions). And when the rain stops, It is hyper-humid, mycoses are out and the clothes will not dry. Fortunately we spent most of the time aloft with a warmer climate.
As for Indonesians, they are well quiet (not worth chasing after a bus, He will meet you anyway), always cheerful and ready to sing (sometimes very late) but always rogues and Liars for transport (It has not enjoyed that we should take to c….).
The most beautiful discovery (or re-discovery for Guillemette) has been the Toraja country (on the island of Sulawesi). This people has kept its traditions and family ties strong despite the evolution of the company. It noted with pleasure that many traditional houses were under construction. We had the 'chance' to attend the BCToraja (142)sthe, Perhaps the most important ceremony (and costly) among the Toraja. This ceremony was held several months or years after the death (the embalmed body awaits in the House), brings together hundreds of people and requires many sacrifices (one could see more than 20 Buffalo slaughtered within two hours).

It shows you a preview Photo, drawings and video (Attention souls sensitive and friends of Buffalo, zap the first minute of the film).

5 Comments:

  1. Always so exotic trip.

  2. Ooh there there, Buffalo !!!… and then they are roasted ?… You have tasted the meat ?… Montreuil kisses

  3. Olivier greenhouse

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAWRENCE !!

  4. Super ! (except the buffalos, the pigs and other animals …..)

  5. A beautiful story … But very confusing customs !

Comments are closed

Indonésie : escale à Vulcania et Buffalo Grill

Harau (19)sPendant un mois et demi, sur les îles indonésiennes de Sumatra et Sulawesi, on s’en est mis plein les yeux : volcans, lacs, mer, montagne… on est loin des villes indiennes (c’est d’ailleurs bien plus propre que dans ces dernières) ! Quel plaisir de se retrouver en pleine nature, sans recours à une agence ou guide, et sans touristes autour de nous. Même pour Laurent, grandi en terre de volcans, l’ascension de cratères fumants reste impressionnante. Quant aux randos dans les rizières, le paysage est superbe et on traverse toujours un village ou on croise un paysan pour nous indiquer le chemin.  Par contre, plus personne ne se déplace à pied, ils sont tous en moto, que ce soit en ville ou dans les rizières.
Partout en Indonésie, la végétation est incroyablement luxuriante et les nombreux fruits délicieux (on s’est régalés de fruits de la passion, mangoustan, tree-tomato, snake fruits et autres fruits dont on ne connaît pas le nom). Pour faire pousser tout ça il faut de la pluie et on a eu notre lot (difficile de dessiner dans ces conditions). Et quand la pluie s’arrête, c’est hyper humide, les mycoses sont de sortie et le linge ne sèche pas. Heureusement on a passé la plupart du temps en altitude avec un climat plus clément.
Quant aux Indonésiens, ils sont bien tranquilles (pas la peine de courir après un bus, il vous attendra de toute façon), toujours joyeux et prêts à chanter (parfois très tard) mais toujours roublards et menteurs pour les transports (on n’a pas bien aimé qu’on nous prenne pour des c….).
La plus belle découverte (ou re-découverte pour Guillemette) a été le pays Toraja (sur l’île de Sulawesi). Ce peuple a su garder ses traditions et ses forts liens familiaux malgré l’évolution de la société. On a constaté avec plaisir que de nombreuses maisons traditionnelles étaient en construction. On a eu la « chance » d’assister à des funérailToraja (142)sles, peut-être la cérémonie la plus importante (et coûteuse) chez les Toraja. Cette cérémonie a lieu plusieurs mois ou années après le décès (le corps embaumé attend dans la maison), rassemble des centaines de personnes et exige de nombreux sacrifices (on a pu voir plus d’une vingtaine de buffles égorgés en deux heures de temps).

On vous montre un aperçu en photo, dessins et vidéo (Attention âmes sensibles et amis des buffles, zappez la première minute du film).

5 commentaires

  1. Toujours aussi dépaysant votre voyage.

  2. Ouh là là, les buffles !!!… et ils sont rôtis ensuite ?… Vous avez goûté la viande ?… Des bises de Montreuil

  3. JOYEUX ANNIVERSAIRE LAURENT !!

  4. Super ! (sauf les buffles, les cochons et autres animaux …..)

  5. Un beau reportage … Mais des coutumes très déroutantes !

Les commentaires sont fermés