Pandai Sikek kites

After several hours of waiting for filling of mini-bus, Here we finally arrived at Pandai Sikek, village of Sumatra, in Minangkabau country, located at the foot of two active volcanoes in the middle of rice fields. Everywhere we see roofs bent upwards. Indeed, the Minangkabau are known for...

Continue reading

When design s'invite Channapatna

By choosing to do a story on the Channaptana toys, We only imagined ourselves to talk about design, Collections, cosmetic… That was our encounter with Atul Johri, Architect/designer installed there. Channapatna, small town of Karnataka, is deemed from 200 years for his lacquered wooden toys. Tipu Sultan, …

Continue reading

From Vladivostok to Vilnius

While it made a break on the Croatian coast, Here is a small return on our arrival in Europe in Trans-Siberian railway. After months in Asia, the contrast was startling to the descent of the ferry to Vladivostok from the Japan (three days at sea). It was entitled to the fog...

Continue reading

It insets at Mysore

Mysore, end of stay in India, We despair we find these famous artisans sculptors of sandalwood or incrustation of ivory on rosewood. And then, two days before departure, a person on the internet we advise to go in a specific area of Mysore or would...

Continue reading

Les cerfs volants de Pandai Sikek

Après plusieurs heures d’attente de remplissage de mini-bus, nous voici enfin arrivés à Pandai Sikek, village de Sumatra, en pays Minangkabau, situé aux pieds de deux volcans actifs au milieu des rizières. Un peu partout on aperçoit des toits courbés vers le ciel. En effet, les Minangkabau sont réputés pour …

Continuer à lire

Quand le design s’invite à Channapatna

En choisissant de faire un reportage sur les jouets de Channaptana, nous n’imaginions pas nous retrouver à parler design, collections, cosmétique… C’était sans compter notre rencontre avec Atul Johri, architecte/designer installé là-bas. Channapatna, petite ville du Karnataka, est réputée depuis 200 ans pour ses jouets en bois laqué. Tipu Sultan, …

Continuer à lire

De Vladivostok à Vilnius

Alors qu’on fait une pause sur la côte croate, voici un petit retour sur notre arrivée en Europe en Transsibérien. Après des mois en Asie, le contraste fut saisissant à la descente du ferry à Vladivostok en provenance du Japon (trois jours en mer). On a eu droit au brouillard …

Continuer à lire

On s’incruste à Mysore

Mysore, fin de séjour en Inde, nous nous désespérons de trouver ces fameux artisans sculpteurs de bois de santal ou faisant de l’incrustation d’ivoire sur bois de rose. Et puis, deux jours avant le départ, une personne sur internet nous conseille d’aller dans un quartier spécifique de Mysore ou seraient …

Continuer à lire